Takin' It to the Streets [PA]
Home » Music » Pop

Takin' It to the Streets [Parental Advisory]

Artist: The Doobie Brothers

Free Shipping Worldwide
Ships from USA
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: WEA (Distributor)
Album: Takin' It to the Streets
# Song Title   Time
1)    Wheels of Fortune
2)    Takin' It To the Streets
3)    8th Avenue Shuffle
4)    Losin' End
5)    Rio
6)    For Someone Special
7)    It Keeps You Runnin'
8)    Turn It Loose
9)    Carry Me Away

Performer Notes
  • The Doobie Brothers: Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons (vocals, guitar); Michael McDonald (vocals, keyboards); Tiran Porter (vocals, bass); Keith Knudsen (vocals, drums); Jeff "Skunk" Baxter (guitar); John Hartman (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Maria Muldaur (vocals); Novi (viola); Jesse Butler (organ); Richie Hayward (drums); Bobby LaKind (congas).
  • The Memphis Horns: Wayne Jackson, Andrew Love, James Mitchell, Lewis Collins, Jack Hale.
  • Recorded at Warner Bros. Recording Studios, North Hollywood, California.
  • The Doobie Brothers: Jeff Baxter, John Hartman , Keith Knudsen, Michael McDonald , Patrick Simmons, Tiran Porter, Tom Johnston.
  • Additional personnel: Maria Muldaur (vocals); Novi (viola); The Memphis Horns (horns); Jesse Butler (organ); Richie Hayward (drums); Bobby LaKind (congas).
  • This record represents the first recorded incarnation of the Doobies part II, the edition of the band featuring gravel-voiced keyboardist Michael MacDonald. It's clearly a transitional album, and a pretty big departure from the band's original style. You can hear the new direction most clearly on the album's two hit singles--the title tune and "It Keeps You Running." The closing track "Carry Me Away" marks the first appearance of the see-saw keyboard riffs later immortalized in "What A Fool Believes" (and later ripped off to good commercial effect by various MacDonald wannabes like Robbie Dupree). The rest of the album deals in various forms of funk.

Producer:Ted Templeman
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Guest Artist: Maria Muldaur; The Memphis Horns
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Review this Product


Related Searches


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.