La La Land CD by Original Soundtrack 1Disc
Home » Music » General » Books, Music & Movies » Music » Compilations

La La Land CD by Original Soundtrack 1Disc

Artist: Original Soundtrack

Free Shipping Worldwide
Ships from USA
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Interscope (USA)
Album: La La Land CD by Original Soundtrack 1Disc
# Song Title   Time
1)    La La Land: Another Day of Sun
2)    La La Land: Someone in the Crowd
3)    La La Land: Mia & Sebastian's Theme
4)    La La Land: A Lovely Night - (with Emma Stone)
5)    La La Land: Herman's Habit
6)    La La Land: City of Stars
7)    La La Land: Planetarium
8)    La La Land: Summer Montage / Madeline
9)    La La Land: City of Stars - (with Emma Stone)
10)    La La Land: Start a Fire
11)    La La Land: Engagement Party
12)    La La Land: Audition (The Fools Who Dream)
13)    La La Land: Epilogue
14)    La La Land: The End
15)    La La Land: City of Stars (Humming) - (with Justin Hurwitz)

Track Listing:

1. Another Day Of Sun - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
2. Someone In The Crowd - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
3. Mia & Sebastian's Theme - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
4. A Lovely Night - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
5. Herman's Habit - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
6. City Of Stars - Pier
7. Planetarium - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
8. Summer Montage / Madeline - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
9. City Of Stars - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
10. Start A Fire
11. Engagement Party - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
12. Audition (The Fools Who Dream) - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
13. Epilogue - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
14. The End - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
15. City Of Stars (Humming) - From "La La Land" Soundtrack
Item No: 602557117776

Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Nicholai Baxter.
  • Recording information: Berry Drive Studios, Los Angeles; Conway Studios, Hollywood, CA; Igloo Music Studios, Burbank, CA.
  • A musical romance about a jazz pianist (Ryan Gosling) and an aspiring actress (Emma Stone) set in the City of Angels, La La Land was written and directed by Damien Chazelle, the man behind the 2014 Oscar winner Whiplash. He enlisted his former Harvard roommate Justin Hurwitz to write the songs and score for the film. The pair also worked together on Whiplash, about drummers, and on a 2009 student project that went on to receive theatrical distribution, Guy and Madeline on a Park Bench, about a jazz trumpeter. Hurwitz is joined here by lyricists Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, two veterans of musical theater (the off-Broadway musical Dogfight, TV's Smash, Broadway's Dear Evan Hansen) at the relatively young age of 31 by the time of release. (The latter is also true of Chazelle and Hurwitz.) La La Land's original soundtrack includes both songs and instrumentals, with the songs performed by a cast that also includes John Legend, fresh off his Oscar win for Selma's "Glory," and Callie Hernandez, a musician-turned-actress. Hernandez performs alongside Stone, Jessica Rothe, and Sonoya Mizuno on "Someone in the Crowd," a soaring, uptempo number with swing-era rhythms. Preceding it, the film opens with a big production number set in L.A. traffic that Hurwitz said was inspired by Jacques Demy-Michel Legrand film musicals of the '60s ("Another Day of Sun"). While listeners and moviegoers alike will find that Gosling and Stone don't quite have the singing chops of an Astaire and Rogers, their voices are warm and approachable, and their duet "A Lovely Night," in particular, is a bright charmer. Later, Legend delivers the goods on "Start a Fire," a song written in the context of a jazz musician trying to cross over to the contemporary mainstream. Score tracks range from the tender-slash-anxious piano piece "Mia & Sebastian's Theme," to the legit jazz exercise "Herman's Habit," to the Romantic tone poem "Planetarium." The film and the soundtrack wrap up with a second reprise of Gosling's "City of Stars," this time hummed by Stone, which will likely provide a feel-good earworm after the music ends. ~ Marcy Donelson

Producer:Matt Robertson; Eldad Guetta; Steven Gizicki; Marius DeVries; Justin Hurwitz
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:9 December, 2016
Guest Artist: Emma Stone
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Review this Product


Related Searches


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.