Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Corinne Bailey Rae

Album: Corinne Bailey Rae
# Song Title   Time
1)    Like a Star
2)    Enchantment
3)    Put Your Records On
4)    Till It Happens to You
5)    Trouble Sleeping
6)    Call Me When You Get This
7)    Choux Pastry Heart
8)    Breathless
9)    I'd Like To
10)    Butterfly
11)    Seasons Change
Product Details


1. Like A Star

2. Enchantment

3. Put Your Records On

4. Till It Happens To You

5. Trouble Sleeping

6. Call Me When You Get This

7. Choux Pastry Heart

8. Breathless

9. I'd Like To

10. Butterfly

11. Seasons Change

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Corinne Bailey Rae (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, Spanish guitar, piano, keyboards, Moog synthesizer, percussion, background vocals); Paul Herman (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, drum programming); Kenji Jammer (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Rod Bowkett (acoustic guitar); Steve Chrisanthou (electric guitar, Spanish guitar, piano, organ, percussion, programming); Steve Bush (electric guitar, programming); London Session Orchestra (strings); Jason Rae (flute, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Jim Corry (tenor saxophone); Malcolm Strachan (trumpet); Andrew Hale (grand piano, programming); Steve Brown (Fender Rhodes piano, Wurlitzer organ, background vocals); Jess Bailey (Wurlitzer organ); Tommy D (keyboards, drum programming); John Beck (keyboards); Aubrey Nunn (bass guitar); Peter Lewinson (drums); Yvonne Ellis (programming); Cara Robinson (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Steve Chrisanthou; Mike Pela; Paul Herman; Tommy D ; Jeremy Wheatley.
  • Recording information: John Ellis's Place; John Ellis's Plae; Olympic Studios, London, England; Taxlight; The Idle Studio.
  • Despite the fact that English vocalist Corinne Bailey Rae has the name of a country artist, and got her start playing in a grunge-inspired hard rock band, her self-titled debut is heavily steeped in 1970s-style soul and singer-songwriter intimacy. Rae's girlish, sultry voice might remind some listeners of Macy Gray, while the subtle shadings and jazzy textures of her tunes may bring to mind Nora Jones and Alicia Keys.
  • Yet Rae, who wrote or co-wrote each of the album's 11 tracks and provides much of the album's instrumentation as well, brings a distinctive stamp to the neo-soul formula. Her songwriting is strikingly personal and well-crafted, and her singing, which can be as cool as a Lester Young saxophone solo (the lilting "Like a Star") or as soulful and swinging as Sly Stone (the breakthrough single "Put Your Records On"), sets her apart from the pack. CORINNE BAILEY RAE is a solid and very promising debut.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (pp.98-99) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[Her] voice suggest a warmer, less weird Macy Gray, and she uses it without a hint of diva showiness on breezy, sometimes sleepy songs..."

Entertainment Weekly (p.70) - "Rae's an attractive neo-soul songbird with a caressing voice that's got an adorable Macy Gray-esque croak."

Q (p.124) - Ranked #12 in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums of 2006" -- "[Her] eponymous debut album immediately stood out."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Funk & Soul » Soul
Home » Music » Reggae » General
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top